The City of La Porte City is governed by a Mayor and five member council elected to four year, staggered terms.  Council meetings are held on the second and fourth Monday of each month beginning at 7:00 PM at City Hall, 202 Main Street.

Residents have the opportunity to address the Council at the beginning if each meeting, however the Council can only take action on items that are on the agenda for that meeting. 

To request to have an item placed on the agenda, please contact the City Clerk at (319) 342-3396 or lpcclerk@lpctel.net


 Brett Hakeman, City Council

Term Expires 12/31/2027

Contact: bhakeman@lpcia.com

Council Committees:

Public Works (Chair)
Parks & Recreation

 Kristi Harrill, City Council

Kristi Harrill
Kristi Harrill

Term Expires 12/31/2023

Contact: kharrill@lpcia.com

Council Committees:

Parks & Recreation (Chair)
Public Safety

 Brooke Hewitt, City Council

Brooke Hewitt
Brooke Hewitt

Term Expires 12/31/2025

Contact: bhewitt@lpcia.com

Legislation/Personnel (Chairperson)
Finance/Economic Development

 Jan Pint, City Council

Term Expires 12/31/2023

Contact: jpint@lpcia.com

Council Committees:

Finance/Economic Development (Chair)
Public Works

 Jordan Schmitz, City Council

Term Expires 12/31/2025

Contact: jschmitz@lpcia.com

Council Committees:

Public Safety (Chairperson)