Historic Preservation Commission

La Porte City Historic Preservation Commission Website Logo

The La Porte City Historic Preservation Commission consists of no more than seven members with a majority of those members residing inside the City limits. The balance of the members must reside within the Union School District or own property in the City limits. Members are appointed by the Mayor with Council approval. Members shall demonstrate a positive interest in historic preservation, possess interest or expertise in architecture, archeology, history or other closely related disciplines. The Commission identifies and designates local historic districts and sites and makes recommendations to the State Bureau of Historic preservation for the listing of such places. This group meets as needed a minimum of three times a year.

Members are appointed to 3 years terms.

Name Term Expiration
Susan Robertson 2/22/2025
Janet Sproule 2/22/2025
Jan Erdahl 2/22/2026
Eric Coulter 2/22/2027
Shelly Hopkins 2/22/2027