Parks & Recreation Commission

The La Porte City Parks & Recreation Commission consists of five members, two of which may reside outside of the City limits, but must reside within the Union Community School District. Commission members are appointed by the City Council. Duties of the Commission include recommending and reviewing policies, rules, regulations and ordinances relating to City parks, playgrounds, recreational programs and centers. The Commission is also responsible for developing, organizing and promoting new recreation programs and the establishment of new parks within the City. The Commission meets once a month.

Members are appointed to 4 year terms.

Name Term Expiration
Heather Frederiksen 7/1/2024
Vacant 7/1/2024
Billy Foss 7/1/2024
Blake Buckingham 7/1/2026
Sarah Medina 7/1/2026